The Yale Norfolk Summer School Fellowship results from MICA are in!

Congratulations Tim Mahoney!
Tim Mahoney_Installation
This is the first time our department will be represented and we’re very proud and excited!  
We wish Tim very good luck in the next phase!
A little about this prestigious program…



May 24–July 5, 2015

The art division offers a six-week session for academic credit as a special summer program. The School is located on the Stoeckel estate and is supported by the Ellen Battell Stoeckel Trust.

Through the generosity of this trust, the full expenses of tuition, room, and board are covered by a fellowship grant to each student approved for admission. Selected colleges, universities, and professional art schools across the country and abroad are invited to nominate for these fellowships two candidates who are currently enrolled as juniors in their programs. There is an application fee of $25 and a registration fee of $1,500.

Students in art follow a required program of painting, printmaking, drawing, and digital photography.

Distinguished artists are on both the resident and the visiting faculty. The visiting faculty provide workshops, lectures, and individual criticism. The resident faculty for 2015 includes: Colleen Asper, Sarah Anne Johnson, Martin Kersels, Sam Messer, and Didier William. Visiting artists and lecturers will include: Anoka Faruqee, Jonathan Safran Foer, Robert Hobbs, Rachel Rose, and Robert Storr.

Information about the program may be obtained in late January from the schools that have been invited to participate. The application deadline is in March. Persons interested in being considered for nomination should so inform their department heads. Individuals may not apply directly to the Norfolk program.

“Because there were so many deserving candidates, it was a very difficult year–hardest ever–to select only two finalists and one alternate to be put forward for the Yale Norfolk Summer School Fellowship. The 5-member jury indulged in intense discussions in order to determine the outcome. Congratulations to you all for achieving the high level of inventiveness and sophistication regarding the heartfelt artwork you are producing.”
Barry Nemett Chair of Painting

This year’s two finalists and alternate are:
* Adam Amram–Painting major

* Timothy Mahoney–Photography major

* Liora Ostroff–Painting major, Alternate Candidate

This entry was posted by Mica Photo.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: